The Joy of Childhood

It’s VBS week at our church. With full-time work and school, I thought I really didn’t have time to help with it. But our children’s directors were desperate for volunteers so I agreed. They put me with the 4K group! I was more than a bit anxious of how I was going to make it through this week, concerned that my energy level would be zapped. It’s been awhile since I’ve worked with young children.

Now it is Friday morning and I am sad it’s the last day! I have experienced the joy, creativity, and love of God every day in these sweet children and in the other volunteers, especially our youth workers. The music is etched in my brain to the point that I’m singing it in my dreams; but it’s praises to God, so it’s wonderful. This week has restored joy to my spirit and INCREASED my energy!

It is so easy to get overwhelmed with theological studies and adult problems in church, work and at home (budgets, bills, meetings, reports, planning, house care, family care, etc.). This week God spoke to me through the children, even as they ran around, playing with new friends, just laughing and singing and enjoying life, knowing that they were cared for and watched over and loved. He spoke anew to me: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever becomes humble like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. Whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes Me” (Matthew 18:3-5, NRSV). 

We GET to be in ministry and serve God and people. With God in charge, that’s exciting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joy of Childhood

  1. shirley thompson says:

    May God continue to bless you, Tammy, as you serve.

Leave a Reply

