Changing Our Want

     I want to eat to eat what I want and be thin.
     I have had to face the reality that not everyone’s body responds to food the same way. Some people are able to eat whatever they want and stay thin. This is not a blessing or gift I have. Actually, I guess I should say, some people appear to be able to eat whatever I want to eat, and while I would immediately gain a pound of fat, they metabolize it efficiently and stay thin. Truth be told, most of these individuals probably have a lifestyle in which they eat a lot fewer calories, and burn a lot more, on a regular daily basis than I do. For instance, my youngest son eats all the delicious carbs (bread, Mac and cheese, ice cream, etc), fried food, sugary drinks, pizza, chips, etc… he wants to eat, rarely touches a vegetable or fruit (never a salad), and is just as thin as he ever was. But he doesn’t eat often and he walks miles, I mean MILES, every day. Food just isn’t a THING to him. It’s not one of his main pleasures in life. Food may not be one of my MAIN pleasures, but I do enjoy it. And knowing the reality of my situation, I can’t do what I want.
      OR, I can change my “want”.
      Paul wrote about wants in Ephesians 7: “And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t. I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway.” (Romans 7:18, 19 NLT) And if a grown, educated, wise man such as the apostle Paul had this struggle, perhaps the solution for me is a little more complicated than a “diet” or weight-loss program. Perhaps the answer is to let the Holy Spirit live through me.
     “But you are not controlled by your sinful nature. You are controlled by the Spirit if you have the Spirit of God living in you. (And remember that those who do not have the Spirit of Christ living in them do not belong to Him at all.)… The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, He will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you. Therefore, dear brothers and sisters, you have no obligation to do what your sinful nature urges you to do. For if you live by its dictates, you will die. But if through the power of the Spirit you put to death the deeds of your sinful nature, you will live.” (Romans 8:9, 11-13 NLT)
    There is a whole lot more in the 2 chapters than I touched on here. But this is a good start for today.
     I’m also going to make Post-It notes for myself that say, “I want to take care of this body God gave me.” “I want to use my time for God’s purposes, and accomplish the tasks that benefit His kingdom.” “I want to do what The Lord tells me to do and bring glory to His Name.” But first and foremost, I am going to write, “I will live by the Holy Spirit inside of me and NOT by my sinful nature.”
     What about you? What do you need to write on your Post-It notes today?
*name changed
This entry was posted in Bible study, My Getting Healthy Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Changing Our Want

  1. Chuckredhill says:

    My post it note would say, “you do not want that red velvet cake and ice cream!”

  2. Shirley says:

    Thanks for sharing these thoughts. One of my post-it-notes would read, “I want to have positive thoughts, emotions, and actions by staying focused on Jesus moment by moment”.

Leave a Reply

