Something Supernatural

We humans are fascinated by the supernatural. We love vampire romances, demon-slayers, ghost hunters, etc. We investigate supernatural things as a form of entertainment. I believe God put that interest in us as part of that God-shaped hole which only He can fill. Our openness to the spiritual realm reminds us this world, this life, is not all there is. We know instinctively there is more.

I love the stories of the miracles in the Bible. They, too, are supernatural. Jesus’ first is no exception:

Jesus said to the servants, “Fill the jars with water,” and they filled them to the brim. Then he told them, “Now draw some from them and take it to the headwaiter,” and they did. The headwaiter tasted the water that had become wine. He didn’t know where it came from, though the servants who had drawn the water knew…This was the first miraculous sign that Jesus did in Cana of Galilee. He revealed His glory, and His disciples believed in Him. (John 2:7-9, 11 CEB)

The supernatural occurs when one substance changes into an entirely different substance (water to wine) with no apparent natural intervention. Nothing indicates Jesus touched the jars or the water, or that He said anything to or over them. He only instructed the servants. They responded obediently. The miracle, it seems, happened through the servants’ obedient actions.

I propose it happens the same way today. When we respond obediently to what the Lord tells us to do, miracles can happen. Perhaps we need to learn how to listen to and discern His voice. This is my prayer for today.

Lord, give us ears to hear and a heart, mind and body willing to respond obediently to Your Word, even if it doesn’t seem like it will help. In Jesus’ name.

What about you? Are you fascinated by the supernatural? Have you ever witnessed a miracle?

This entry was posted in Bible study and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Something Supernatural

  1. SaintlySages says:

    I can understand how they felt at Cana; I never cease being fascinated by the Eucharist. God bless!

  2. I travel to Nicaragua with a medical missions team. We see some amazing miracles there, and not always through the hands of our docs. Two years ago, a drowned baby was restored to life. We saw God take something that wasn’t (a dead, blue child) and make it into something new (alive)…and bring to eternal life her family!

    In the states, I find the Lord doing more that is miraculous when I depend less on man’s abilities, too. It’s been an interesting life!

    \o/
    Praising Jesus for His mighty power and awesome love!

    • tlhumphries says:

      That is so cool! I wonder if we don’t see many miracles in the states because we are so “self-reliant”. The drive to be independent has been so thoroughly ingrained in my psyche, I know I miss opportunities.

      Lord, help us to depend solely upon You, in Jesus’ name, amen!

      • Amen! I can tell you that the more reliant I become on Him, the more opportunities I have to see Him do the unexpected. Be sure to read the next few posts. You’ll see what I mean. 🙂

        \o/

  3. dcardiff says:

    I have experienced a miracle. Two and a half years ago I was severely depressed. Every morning on my way to work I passed a woman panhandling for change. I brought her a coffee and a breakfast sandwich. She said, “Thank you kind sir. May God bless you.” He did, my life has been changed ever since. I now visit homeless people daily and have found my purpose in life. I am happy. ~ Dennis

Leave a Reply

