Dreaded Plateau

I haven’t posted about my getting healthy journey in awhile. To be honest, this hasn’t been the quick or profound trip I had hoped. I’m coming up on a year now and am not where I had planned to be at this point. In fact, for the last 7-8 weeks, the scale hasn’t budged… well, that’s not true. At my last official weigh-in it went UP half a pound and some of my measurements also went up incrementally. I was so frustrated! My trainer told me my body had entered its own “maintenance phase”. I have officially reached a plateau. Ugh!

Oddly enough, I had been feeling “plateaued” in other aspects of my life, also: specifically in my spiritual and vocational life. Dictionary.com defines plateau as:

1. a land area having a relatively level surface considerably raised above adjoining land on at least one side, and often cut by deep canyons.

2. a period or state of little or no growth or decline; period of little or no apparent progress.
Yeah… that second definition pretty much sums me up. I was bummed. So I prayed about it. “Lord, what is going on?” I got an interesting answer in my spirit.
“It only looks like a plateau from your viewpoint.”
Huh?
“If you looked at your driveway from an ant’s viewpoint, it would look like a huge plateau. From your viewpoint, it’s not. I can see you are not on a plateau. There is an end to the level spot, you just need to pull up your tent pegs and get moving.”
Just so we’re clear. This was not an audible voice I heard. It was an impression in my mind and spirit; an idea I believe was from God since God was who I was talking to when I was praying… actually I guess I was kinda whining…
Ok. So the point is I need to do something different. If I keep doing the same things the same way, I’ll keep getting the same results. The good news is:
  •  I HAVE BEEN DOING THIS FOR AN ENTIRE YEAR! <—- huge deal.
I have NEVER stuck with an exercise regime for an entire year… EVER. When I started this, I HATED exercise. Now, if I go more than two days without working out somehow, I start getting a bit panicky, edgy, and irritable. That is not like old Tammy, at all!!! Although I don’t always WANT to work out, I feel so much better after I do. Now it’s just time to bump up my intensity, push a little harder, eat a little less.
And in all honesty… I did eat a bunch of M&M’s the week before my weigh-in… and by bunch I mean… nevermind what I mean… I should know and do better. Time to stop resting on my laurels and get on with this.
Even though I haven’t lost 100 pounds this year, I have made progress. I will post my official one year results on or around June 2.
How are you doing with moving towards your goals?
This entry was posted in My Getting Healthy Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dreaded Plateau

  1. cycleguy says:

    Oh yeah…the dreaded plateau. At my age (59) it is harder to lose weight than ever. It used to be that I would cycle, curb the eating and the pounds would melt off. now they sort of make like a post-it-note. They eventually lose their “stick” but slower. I did not know you before, nor is it my business knowing where you were then, but just keep at it. I found that I have to vary my routine. Don’t give up Tammy. You will be glad you didn’t. same is true in the spiritual world.

  2. CR says:

    YES KEEP AT IT!!! You look awesome and you’ve really had quite the body transformation over the past year….I’m so proud of you!

  3. fkoutsource says:

    I pray God blesses your effort and give you the eyes to see the transformation He is doing both within and outward. Man looks at the outward appearance but the Lord judges the motive of man. May your motive to exercise be pure and void of societal pressure to what we ought to look like and may God give you the eyes to see the beautiful person He is chiseling you to be.

    • tlhumphries says:

      Thank you for your prayers and encouragement! God is so good and He is at work all the time, sometimes in ways we don’t immediately see with our physical eyes. I am so thankful God has given me the opportunity to change some habits that were destructive to this jar of clay that houses the Treasure of His Holy Spirit.

      By the way, I like the quotes on your blog!

Leave a Reply

