God Who?

When we last left Moses in Exodus 3, he was questioning God’s choice of a deliverer. God’s answer left more questions. Understandable. If you were out in the desert working and a voice from a burning bush started talking to you, you would have questions; especially if that Voice gave you a monumental, seemingly impossible task. Of course, the Voice had already introduced Himself to Moses as “the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, the God of Jacob” (vs. 6). And by all indications, Moses believed Him. Then God gave him the monumental, seemingly impossible task and said He would be with him. And Moses was all like, “who are You again?”

Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is His name?’ Then what shall I tell them?” (Exodus 3:13, NIV)

Evidently this was the right question to ask, because God answered it completely, from the historical to the future perspective:

14 God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM (or I WILL BE WHAT I WILL BE). This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’” 15God also said to Moses, “Say to the Israelites, ‘The LORD, the God of your fathers—the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob—has sent me to you.’   “This is My name forever, the name you shall call Me from generation to generation.

God then went ahead and gave Moses step-by-step instructions. Have you ever wondered why God didn’t do that at first, but waited? I think God reveals the reason in the questions Moses asked. Moses first asked about himself because he recognized his inabilities. God answered about Himself. Then Moses asked about God. God answered about Himself again and gives His plan. God needed Moses focused on God for this task.

Lesson: If we want know God’s instructions, we need to focus on God, not ourselves. This is harder than it sounds. Financial restrictions, time and energy constraints, demands of family and work, even past successes and failures, crowd the lens.

As you reflect over the past year and plan the next one, consider how you can focus on God more. Is He calling you to a monumental, seemingly impossible task? What idea, dream or vision has He given you?

This entry was posted in Bible study, Monday's Questions for God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God Who?

  1. Sorry, but I have to actually oppose with this story. Having said that, I understand that all of us all may have our different opinions.

Leave a Reply

