How, God?

Everyday in my daily Bible readings last week someone was asking God some question, and the answer God gave taught me something. I’ve decided I want to explore that a bit and share it on Mondays. We’ll call this “Monday’s Questions for God” or something.

The one that has been niggling at me the most is from Luke 1:26-35:

26 In the sixth month of Elizabeth’s pregnancy, God sent the angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a town in Galilee, 27 to a virgin pledged to be married to a man named Joseph, a descendant of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. 28The angel went to her and said, “Greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you.”

29 Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be. 30 But the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary; you have found favor with God. 31 You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you are to call him Jesus. 32 He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, 33 and he will reign over Jacob’s descendants forever; his kingdom will never end.”

It’s a good thing Mary wasn’t like me. It’s been my experience that whenever God has given me some kind of idea or task, I just jump right in and do what makes sense to me. If I was Mary, and I was engaged to Joseph, I probably would have told the angel, “Really? Ok!” and ran and told Joseph about the visit and encouraged a quick wedding so we could make that baby! Because common sense says that in order to have a baby you have to…umm…. make one. I wonder if I would have even thought to ask God what Mary did.

34 “How will this be,” Mary asked the angel, “since I am a virgin?”

Smart girl. Ask the messenger how GODplanned for this to happen. I mean, if God has a goal, He has a plan for reaching that goal.  She didn’t just assume and act on the obvious. She paused long enough to ask a very important question. The answer she received must

Two of my little angels

My favorite "Angel" picture

have stretched her faith.

35 The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come on you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called[a] the Son of God.

So the question of the day is “how God?” It challenges me to not just act on what I already know, but to ask God if He has a different plan.

Do you have vision or idea God has given? Have you asked Him, “How?”

This entry was posted in Monday's Questions for God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How, God?

  1. Pingback: Obedience is Better Than… | Thoughts Along the Journey

Leave a Reply

