On Guard!

WHAT A DAY! Some days just seem to hold more trouble than necessary. Yesterday was one of those days. Attacks came from several different directions. Of course, many times when Christians say we are being “attacked”, we mean figuratively, like from the devil or the ex-husband or something. As adults, we also call certain verbal altercations “attacks”. Yesterday I had a bit of all of that…and then came the literal attack. One of the youth I work with actually punched, kicked, and then BIT me!!!

In my line of work we train for this kind of circumstance. But honestly, I never imagined I would actually have to use that training. I mean, let’s face it, I am NOT a physically aggressive person AT ALL. I tend to fight my battles verbally. Oftentimes I am quite effective, especially if I have time to process. “Come let us reason together” is my motto. This verbal skill was not effective yesterday. It left me stunned. This girl shocked the hell out of me. Which was probably a good thing. Otherwise, I might have knocked the hell out of her. Instead I calmly looked at her and said, “Are you SERIOUSLY BITING ME?!?!?”, as I pulled my wrist out of her mouth. She was unable to verbally respond. Her mouth was full >:|

Thankfully she didn’t break the skin and I am ok. In a day of frustratingly bizarre, this event took the cake. But what did I learn? What lessons can I take from this experience: Always be prepared? Add wrist protection to my full armor of God? You can’t reason with crazy people? I thought I had learned that lesson already.

Whether the attacks we experience are verbal, physical, emotional, or spiritual, we have to be ready for them. We have to know how we are going to respond before they happen. Because in the middle of an attack, all your spiritual platitudes, optimistic ideology, and “people are basically good or want to be” or “Jesus loves you and so do I” thoughts go right out the window. At those moments you act on what you fundamentally, perhaps instinctively, KNOW. For instance, “I know I want to live through this so I must defend my body.” These are not conscious thoughts. In these moments, Jesus’ command to turn the other cheek is a distance memory…unless you know it on a subconscious level where God has rewired you to love instead of strike. I found out my rewiring wasn’t quite complete. I did not give her the other wrist to chomp down on. And I wanted to show her God’s love….right after I wanted to smite her. My rewiring was only complete enough for me not to strike. Remembering to love her came later after I had calmed down.

Living the real Christian life…you know the one where we try to act like Jesus?…is NOT the easy, instinctive thing to do. Lord, please help us all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Guard!

  1. freewayhome says:

    “then came the literal attack.”
    That made me smile for some reason. I like literal attacks better. They’re more easy to explain.

    • tlhumphries says:

      That is so true! And because they’re easier to explain (and more visually obvious), I don’t feel like I have to justify my response as much as I do the other kind of attacks for some reason.

  2. Shirley says:

    Great thoughts! Carrying an armor of protection must include the baggage of scripture…being prepared to face “the whatever” with scripture. This is true whether it be to be prepared to encourage, defend, smash gossip, or avoid anger. Phil 4:13
    Good job holding on to God’s presence.

Leave a Reply

