God’s Teenage Daughter :)

There is this theological perspective I find myself trying sometimes that says: “Ok God, I’m doing everything I’m supposed to do. Now You are supposed to bless me and make everything work out for me (usually this is according to my agenda).” Of course the flip of this sounds like: “Well things aren’t going so good for me right now. I must have done something wrong and pissed God off.” A passage in today’s Bible reading reminded me of this cartoon from Zits on April 10th, 2011.

Zits Cartoon for Apr/10/2011

I definitely see this attitude in teens. They think they should be rewarded and receive accolades for doing what they are supposed to do. If they don’t get the praise, they see no point in doing right and often default to doing the wrong things. Frustrating. Do you think God ever fills this way about us? Sometimes I think I’m a teenager in my faith age. At other times I’m sure of it. Here’s is what Jesus said in Luke 17:7-10.

 7 “Suppose one of you has a servant plowing or looking after the sheep. Will he say to the servant when he comes in from the field, ‘Come along now and sit down to eat’? 8 Won’t he rather say, ‘Prepare my supper, get yourself ready and wait on me while I eat and drink; after that you may eat and drink’? 9 Will he thank the servant because he did what he was told to do? 10 So you also, when you have done everything you were told to do, should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done our duty.’”

Time for me to stop thinking God owes me something because I’m doing His will. Ugh!

Have you ever struggled with this?

This entry was posted in A Prodigal's Mom's Perspective. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Teenage Daughter :)

  1. Chuck says:

    I can certainly relate to that…sometimes I feel like the rebellious teen that I’m trying to raise…you know the kind who think they should be rewarded for doing what”s expected of them. I’m just glad God is more patient w/ this teen than I am w/ my own.

  2. Oh yeah. This kind of thinking has driven me and others mildly insane.

Leave a Reply

