I’ve Got a Secret

I make it a point to not hop on every literary fad that comes along. Long after the fad has faded I will sometimes check out whatever it was so I can see what all the ruckus was about. It’s the rebel in me I guess, or the desire to watch and make sure the masses don’t run headlong over a cliff before I go down that particular path. For instance, I read Blue Like Jazz three years after it was used as one of the topics for a study group at our church. It was a really good book. I highly recommend it…now that everyone else has already read it. I finally read Who Moved My Cheese last year. My cheese keeps moving, too. That’s life; nothing new, just an interesting way to narrate it. I still haven’t read any Harry Potter or Twilight books (the cliff is looming on those).

This past weekend I finally checked out The Secret. For the other 3 people on the planet who haven’t read it yet, I think it is relatively “cliff” safe. An important aspect of The Secret involves visualization. It says to spend time every day imagining what you really want and “the universe” will bring it to you: houses, cars, money, the perfect mate, joy, whatever. There is truth to this because we naturally pursue what is important to us. Since I have a specific financial need, I decided to test The Secret. I figure I have the best opportunity since I don’t have to rely on the generic “universe”. I have a loving, heavenly Father who will provide for my needs. I can ask Him. So I specifically asked God for a certain amount of money within a certain time period to cover our need. Then, using ideas within The Secret, I started to imagine receiving that money, focusing my thoughts on the amount.

Last night, before I went to sleep, I thought about the money and something in my spirit said, “You need to focus on God instead.” That something was right. So I prayed. When I woke up this morning, I thought about the money and something in my spirit said, “Stop this nonsense, seriously… seek first the kingdom of God.” That Something must be the Holy Spirit. I open my scripture reading for the day, preplanned before I started this “Secret” thing. Right at the end of it, in Luke 12, is this (the italics are mine and what I was reading into it):

29 And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink (or a set amount of money you may need); do not worry about it (focusing your thoughts on it). 30 For the pagan world (those who use fad formulas to get what they need,  which is how I was acting) runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. 31 But seek his kingdom (focus on following God, doing God’s work His way, with love, justice, mercy and humility), and these things will be given to you as well (God will meet your needs).

I think God was trying to tell me the best “secret”. I’m going to trust Him. What about you? What do you think of The Secret? Or God’s secret?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

